Agustí Villaronga receives the 2011 National Film Award

On 22 July, the Mallorcan film director and collaborator on the Master's
in Cinema Fiction Script and Direction. Independent films
, Agustí Villaronga
received the 2011 National Film Award, granted by the Ministry
of Culture. The award, consisting of 30,000 euros, is aimed at recompensing
the most excellent contribution within the field of Spanish cinema during
the year prior to the grant.

The jury emphasised the "poetics" of the filmmaker and "capacity
to construct a personal perspective” who has managed to connect with the public.
His latest film, Pa Negre (2010) won nine Goyas, including the Goya
for Best Director.

whom we can classify as a cult filmmaker, started his film career in 1987
with Tras el Cristal, winner of the awards Gran Premi del Cinema
de Barcelona, Crítica de Mallorca and Ondas de Madrid. This film was
followed by others such as El niño de la luna (1989), which
won a Goya for best original script and was nominated for best director; El
pasajero Clandestino
, (1996) and 99.9 (1997), winner of the
Mélies de Plata award for best fantàstica europea film at the
Sitges Film Festival.

In 2002, Aro
Tolbukhin: en la mente del asesino
, co-directed with Lydia Zimmermmann
and Isaac. P. Racine, was awarded the Premi Ariel for the best original